Robin Hayward

Tuba player, composer, researcher

Flag

Solo (composer/performer)

drei Ventile

'Hayward's plunge into the fertile realm of noise and microtonal articulation suggests laboratory work, industrial processes... a lost world of steam engines chugging and hissing. That's not to say that his playing is imitative or merely a matter of sound effects. His expansion of the tuba's musical language is dramatic, with a sure sense of shape and movement that is musically rewarding as well as acoustically intriguing.'
Julian Cowley, The Wire (from review of States of Rushing)

'...these lengthy pieces exercise a hypnotic effect through a gradual accumulation of harmonic and timbral density. Long tones and their electronic afterimages overlap into slowly pulsating chords with long decay times and unexpected lacunae. The title track’s low, fluttering rumbles have something seismic about them, something almost more felt than heard. On the shorter Travel Stain, Hayward is joined by Seth Josel on scordatura guitar. Relative to the solo tuba pieces, Travel Stain has a certain textural lightness. The ranges of the two instruments contrast nicely, as do their differences of timbre and duration of tones.'
Daniel Barbiero, AMN Reviews(from review of Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse)

Between the years 2000 and 2009 Robin Hayward composed a series of acoustic-noise based solo tuba pieces, drawing mainly on the 'noise-valve' technique he discovered in 1996. Two of these, Dial and Coil, were released in 2005 on his solo CD Valve Division. A series of more recent acoustic-noise based pieces was released in December 2009 on his second solo CD / LP States of Rushing.

Alongside this he has also been exploring the tuba's microtonal potential, and in 2009 developed the first fully microtonal tuba. In 2014 the CD Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse was released on Pogus Productions, featuring the three compositions Plateau Square, Travel Stain and Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse, all involving the microtonal tuba.

Relevant articles

What's in a name? The problematic Reductionist label
Article in the book echtzeitmusik published in 2011 by the Wolke Verlag.
Pitches Treated as Noise
Interview with Arie Altena published in Travelling Time in February 2012.
Redefining an Instrument
Interview with Chiyoko Szlavnics, musicworks #89, Summer 2004

Solo (interpreter)

'Robin Hayward, an extraordinary tuba player, offered a riveting account of Luigi Nono's Post-prae-ludium per Donau'
- The New York Times (from review of Metropolis Counterpoint Berlin concert, Carnegie Hall, November 2007)

Peter Ablinger Tuba und Rauschen (2001)*
Alvin Lucier Coda Variations (2005)*
Luigi Nono Post-prae-ludium per Donau (1987)
Larry Polansky Four Voice Canon #23b (2008)*
Eliane Radigue Occam XI (2012)*
Christian Wolff OUT-TAKE (2005)*

* = written for Robin Hayward

Robin Hayward

Tuba player, composer, researcher

Flag

Solo (composer/performer)

drei Ventile

„Haywards Eintauchen in das fruchtbare Reich von Noise und mikrotonaler Artikulation lässt denken an Laborarbeit, industrielle Verfahren,… Eine längst vergessene Welt des Puffens und Zischens von Dampfmotoren. Doch sein Spiel ist dabei nicht imitierend oder eine Ansammlung von Klangeffekten. Seine Ausweitung der musikalischen Sprache der Tuba ist dramatisch, mit einem sicheren Sinn für Form und Bewegung, der nicht nur musikalisch bereichernd, sondern auch akustisch faszinierend ist.“
Julian Cowley, The Wire (aus der Kritik zu States of Rushing, eigene Übersetzung)

„… diese langandauernden Stücke üben durch eine graduelle Akkumulation von harmonischer und klangfarblicher Dichte einen hypnotisierenden Effekt aus. Lange Töne und ihre elektronischen Nachbilder überlappen zu langsam pulsierenden Akkorden mit langem Verklingen und unerwarteten Lücken. Das flatternde Rumpeln des Titel-Tracks hat etwas Seismisches an sich, etwas, das man beinahe mehr fühlt als hört. Im kürzeren Travel Stain kommt Seth Josel dazu, an der Skordatur-Gitarre. Im Vergleich zu den Solo-Tuba-Stücken hat Travel Stain eine gewisse strukturelle Leichtigkeit. Die Tonumfänge der beiden Instrumente ergeben einen schönen Kontrast, genauso wie ihre Unterschiede in Timbre und Tondauer.“
Daniel Barbiero, AMN Reviews(aus der Kritik zu Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse, eigeine Übersetzung)

Zwischen 2000 und 2009 komponierte Robin Hayward eine Reihe von auf akustischem Rauschen basierenden Solo-Stücken für die Tuba, die hauptsächlich an seine Entdeckung der Geräusch-Ventil-Technik in 1996 anknüpfen. Zwei dieser Stücke, Dial und Coil, wurden 2005 auf seiner Solo-CD Valve Division veröffentlicht. Im Dezember 2009 wurden einige akustische Geräusch-Stücke neueren Datums auf seiner zweiten Solo-CD/LP States of Rushing veröffentlicht.

Darüber hinaus erkundet Robin Hayward unablässig das mikrotonale Potenzial der Tuba und entwickelte in 2009 die erste völlig mikrotonale Tuba. Im Jahr 2014 wurde die CD Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse durch Pogus Productions veröffentlicht. Auf der CD sind die drei Kompositionen Plateau Square, Travel Stain und Nouveau Saxhorn Nouveau Basse versammelt, die alle die mikrotonale Tuba einbeziehen.

Relevante Veröffentlichungen

Was sagt ein Name? Der problematische Begriff des „Reduktionismus“
Artikel im Buch echtzeitmusik veröffentlicht in 2011 im Wolke Verlag.
Pitches Treated as Noise
Interview mit Arie Altena, veröffentlicht im Februar 2012 in Travelling Time.
Redefining an Instrument
Interview with Chiyoko Szlavnics, veröffentlicht im Sommer 2004 in musicworks #89, Summer 2004

Solo (Interpret)

„Robin Hayward, ein außergewöhnlicher Tubaspieler, bot eine fesselnde Interpretation von Luigi Nonos Post-praeludium per Donau dar.“
- Steve Smith, The New York Times (aus der Kritik zum Konzert Metropolis Counterpoint Berlin, Carnegie Hall, November 2007, eigeine Übersetzung)

Peter Ablinger Tuba und Rauschen (2001)*
Alvin Lucier Coda Variations (2005)*
Luigi Nono Post-prae-ludium per Donau (1987)
Larry Polansky Four Voice Canon #23b (2008)*
Eliane Radigue Occam XI (2012)*
Christian Wolff OUT-TAKE (2005)*

* = für Robin Hayward geschrieben